LHSON Pinning & Recognition Ceremony May 2024

May 17, 2024

In the spirit of commemorating the success of our 2024 graduates, Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (LHSON) hosted a Pinning and Recognition Ceremony on Friday, May 12, 2024 at 1:30 p.m. at Sunnyvale First Baptist Church in Sunnyvale, Texas. Graduating students were from the Traditional track; FastBacc® track, DNP tracks, and our U.S. Army Graduate Program in Anesthesia Nursing, which is notably ranked #2 in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. Additionally, LHSON’s Nurse-Midwifery program ranked No. 22 nationally and our DNP program ranked No. 66 in the Best Graduate Schools section.

“Congratulations Baylor nurses! We are honored to celebrate this significant moment in the lives of our graduates. As these amazing students now embark on their professional journey the administration, faculty, staff, and alumni of the LHSON are incredibly proud,” said Linda Plank, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, Dean, LHSON.

Highlighting the day, award recognitions included: Learn.Lead.Serve. Dean's Awards to Alexis Serrano, Traditional track and Kendall Cross, FastBacc® track. The second recognition were the DAISY Awards which stands for “Diseases Attacking the Immune System.” This year’s recipients of the Student DAISY Awards were Kelly Haas, Traditional track; Landry Rickabaugh, FastBacc® and Cassidy Rush, DNP-Nurse Midwifery track. The DAISY Faculty Awards were presented to Dr. Beth Hultquist and Dr. Becky Althaus. The Outstanding DNP Project was presented to Rachel McCallops for her project titled, “Firearm Screening During Well Child Visits.” 

In addition, USAGPAN's 2024 AANA Foundation sponsored award for "The Program Administrator's Outstanding Resident Research Project" was presented to the team of CPT Hannah Melkun, CPT Jared Barnhill, CPT Blair Beougher, CPT Aaron DeHart, CPT Ghislaine Dongmo Kenfack and CPT Steven Shrives. The award recognizes the student’s/resident’s work in research and commitment to the profession of nurse anesthesia to advance the art and science of anesthesia. The USAGPAN "Jim Reed Award for Clinical and Operational Excellence" was presented to CPT Christina Kidd and is awarded to the student that best exemplifies the critical thinking and adaptability needed for the battlefield nurse anesthetist. 

Further recognition includes the Highest Ranking Nursing School GPAs for the Traditional track. For the first time ever, we have three outstanding students at the LHSON who deserve equal congratulations for their impeccable academic success: Molly Andersen, Kelly Haas and Mikaela Morton. We are also proud to acknowledge the Highest Ranking Nursing School GPA for the FastBacc® track, Angelica Castro. In addition, we applaud LHSON nursing students who graduated with Honors to include the following: Molly Anderson; Madelyn Baird; Haley Biron; Katelyn Carlotti; Angelica Castro; Michelle Ernst; Hailey Hanson; Madeline Hanson; Kelly Haas; Haley Jones; Madison Kelly; Ashley Kirkman; Chloe Korando; Ana Maddox; Lindsay Matthews; Sabrina Mei; Hannah Morris; Mikaela Morton; Madelyn Osborne; Audrey Perovich; Ashlyn Robbins; Alexis Serrano; Emily Swinney; Ashton Unholz and Kailynne Witter.

During this festive occasion, nursing students received their nursing school pin and cords prior to Baylor University Commencement in Waco. Each pin is distinctive; and for the nurse, it also symbolizes honorable completion of a rigorous and physically demanding nursing program. The cords signify membership into Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society and for the Baylor Student Nurses Association.

The Traditional track class address was given by Denzel Adams followed by the presentation of Undergraduate pins announced by Dr. Beth Hultquist, Clinical Associate Professor and presented by Dr. Lisa Jones, Associate Dean for Pre-Licensure Programs. The FastBacc® class address was given by Kendal Cross. The DNP class address was given by Katelyn Garrett followed by Graduate pins and hoods presented by Dr. Deborah Shirey, Associate Dean for the Online Graduate Program. The USAGPAN class address was given by Major Miguel Vergara, IV followed by Graduate pins and hoods presented by Lieutenant Colonel Janet Sims.

The ceremony continued and offered a Blessing of the Hands given by Dr. Sahr Mbriwa, Chaplain and Coordinator of Campus Ministry, LHSON. The special message represented the blessing of our nurses to be the hands of Jesus to bring comfort and healing to those they care for, and a dedication to a ministry of caring. The memorable day concluded with closing remarks by Dr. Lisa Jones and a group of graduating seniors who led the audience in singing, “That Good Old Baylor Line.”

For event photos, click here.