LHSON Pinning & Recognition Ceremony for Fall 2023

December 15, 2023

In the spirit of commemorating the success of our 2023 graduates, Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (LHSON) hosted a Pinning and Recognition Ceremony on Friday, December 15, 2023 at 1:30 p.m. at Sunnyvale First Baptist Church in Sunnyvale, Texas.

“Congratulations Baylor nurses! As these amazing students now embark on their professional journey the administration, faculty, staff, and alumni of the LHSON are incredibly proud,” said Linda Plank, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, Dean, LHSON.

Highlighting the day, the LHSON shared several special recognitions. The Learn.Lead.Serve. Awards were presented by Dean Plank to the students who most exemplified the core mission of the Baylor LHSON, Nnume Nwankoo, Traditional track and Glenn Kaufman, Distance Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing track. The second recognition included the Student DAISY Awards presented to the following recipients: MacLayne Rylands, Traditional track; Julia Marshall, Distance Accelerated Bachelor of Science and Nursing track; Ashley Williams from the DNP-FNP track; and Diaz Clark from the DNP-FNP Postmasters track.

The next recognition was an award given to the student who developed and implemented the most Outstanding DNP Project. The recipient of the Fall 2023 Outstanding DNP Project Award was Sae Hae Jeong for the project titled: “Promoting Antimicrobial Stewardship through Implementation of Upper Respiratory Infection (URI) Protocol at the Local Urgent Care Clinic in Texas.” In addition, the Fall 2023 Outstanding DNP-ENL Project Award was presented to Melody Dickerson for the project entitled, “From Four Star to Five Star: Strategic Improvement Plan.”

Further recognition included the Highest Ranking Nursing GPAs for fall 2023. Congratulations to Ann Pham, with a nursing school GPA of 3.90 for the Traditional track. In addition, Catherine Alternus had the highest GPA for Cohort 6 with a 3.91. 

During this festive occasion, nursing students received their nursing school pin and cords prior to Baylor University Commencement in Waco. Each pin is distinctive; and for the nurse, it also symbolizes honorable completion of a rigorous and physically demanding nursing program. The cords signify membership into Sigma Theta Tau International Nursing Honor Society and for the Baylor Student Nurses Association.

The Traditional track class address was given by Ethan Kigozi followed by the presentation of Undergraduate pins announced by Dr. Beth Hultquist, Clinical Associate Professor and presented by Dr. Lisa Jones, Associate Dean for Pre-Licensure Programs. The DABSN class address was given by Glenn Kaufman followed by Graduate pins and hoods presented by Dr. Ethany Howden, Clinical Assistant Professor and DABSN Coordinator. The DNP class address was given by Catrin Gagne followed by Graduate pins and hoods presented by Dr. Deborah Shirey, Associate Dean for the Online Graduate Program.

The ceremony continued and offered a Blessing of the Hands given by Dr. Sahr Mbriwa, Chaplain and Coordinator of Campus Ministry, LHSON. The special message represented the blessing of our nurses to be the hands of Jesus to bring comfort and healing to those they care for, and a dedication to a ministry of caring. The memorable day concluded with closing remarks by Dr. Lisa Jones and a group of graduating seniors who led the audience in singing, “That Good Old Baylor Line.”

To view photos from the ceremony, click here.