LHSON's 10th and Final Going for the Gold Gala - Raises Over $1 million for nursing student scholarships

April 30, 2022
Gala 2022

On Saturday, April 30, 2022, The Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (LHSON), hosted 600 guests at The Dallas Renaissance for its 10th and final Going for the Gold Gala, raising over $1 million. Since the inaugural gala in 2014, the Gala has become a transformational fundraising event providing critical resources for the nursing school and its students.

The evening’s festivities were memorable. The Gala began at 6:00 p.m. with the National Anthem performed by Hebron Road and a warm welcome from Mary Ann Hill, current Gala Taskforce Chair, joined by Donna Dee Floyd and Angela Bowman, past Gala Taskforce Chairs. Looking back over the last 10 years, guests enjoyed watching a nostalgic gala video. Remarks were then shared by Linda A. Livingstone, Ph.D., President of Baylor University followed by an invocation by Steven R. Newton, Baylor Scott & White Health, Chief Growth Officer. After dinner, Hebron Road performed “You Say” and Dr. Linda Plank, Dean of the LHSON, gave an overview of the nursing school. Serving as the moderator for the panel discussion of speakers was Pat Nunley, Baylor Radio Color Analyst who introduced to the stage, Clyde Hart, Darold Williamson, Jeremy Wariner and Michael Johnson (via Zoom). The evening continued with Janis Kovar, Senior Director of Development of the LHSON and a student testimonial from Taylor Reynolds, LHSON BSN ’17. Soon after the Live Auction began and Fund-the-Need. Closing out the evening was Mary Ann Hill and a final performance by Hebron Road singing “Under God.”

Support from sponsors, underwriters and volunteers remains crucial every year. Special thanks to Gala event chair, Mary Ann Hill and the 75 volunteers of the Gala Task Force Committee, 47 Gala Student Ambassadors and 43 Dean’s Board members. This year, Gala proceeds focused on the nursing school’s highest priority, scholarships for nursing students.

As of April 21, 2022, Gala sponsors and underwriters included: $100,000 / Golden Star Benefactor, Dr. D.M. Edwards; Anonymous; $50,000+ / Golden Benefactor, Angela and Brad Bowman; Anna Belle Johnson; Anita Jones, Laurie and Mark Nielsen, $10,000+ / Golden Sponsor, Baylor Scott & White Health (VIP Reception Underwriter); Keypath Education (Live Auction Underwriter); Marie and John Chiles (Invitations Underwriter); Paula and Steve Reynolds (Gala Video Underwriter); Cervantes Family; Joy and Steve Cobb; Interstate Batteries; Pam and Mike Jones; Kirby and Rob Key; Suzanne and Tom Martin; Georganna Simpson; Wanda and David Stovall; Texas Farm Bureau; Lois and Dexter Ward, Karen and Richard Willis, $5,000+ / Golden Friend, AlphaGraphics (Printed Program Underwriter); Rene and Ron Albee (Valet Parking Underwriter); Baylor Bookstore (Public Relations Underwriter); Central Market (Gala Gift Underwriter); Tradition Senior Living (Table Decorations Underwriter); Susan and Gary Baker; Merrie and Sparkey Beckham; Marilyn and John Bedwell; Rita and Carl Bonds; Ellen Byrd; Children’s Health; Fudge Family; Ginger Murchison Foundation/Sue and Don Wills; Kari and Steve Haywood; Terri Heard; Shari and Terry Hill; Amy and Ben Jared; Carl Knight; Alison and Michael Malone; Medical City Healthcare; Martha and John Minton; Cheryl and Ron Murff (Entertainment Underwriter); Lydia and James Perry; Melanie Rogers – In Loving Memory of Bill Rogers; Scottish Rite for Children; Alice and Ken Starr; Texas Baptists; Sharon Treadaway (Technology Underwriter); Velocity Mazda of Tyler; Donna and Richard Woodall, $2,500+ Table Hosts, Beck; Amy and David Bone; Kay and Stuart Crutchfield; Lawren and Dominic Edwards; Donna Dee and Curtis Floyd; George W. Truett Theological Seminary; Mary Ann and Doug Hill; Raschelle and Max Loudenslager; Northrise University Initiative; RGT Wealth Advisors; Debra and Mark Rountree; Amy and Kevin Schmok; Becky Stepp and Lisa Stepp – In Loving Memory of Kathy Tinius.

LHSON is passionate about preparing future Baylor nurses. Past Galas have featured champion athletes and celebrities such as: Texas Governor Greg Abbott (virtual 2020 gala); Sean Lee, #50 Dallas Cowboys linebacker and his wife Megan Lee (2019 gala); Laura Bush, Former First Lady of the United States and Dr. Linda Livingstone, President of Baylor University (2018 gala); Derek Haas, co-creator and executive producer of NBC's hit television series Chicago Fire, Chicago PD, Chicago Med and Chicago Justice (2017 gala); Noah Galloway, a wounded Operation Iraqi Freedom U.S. Army war veteran hero and finalist on the TV program, “Dancing with the Stars" along with Terrance Williams, Dallas Cowboys Wide Receiver (2016 gala); Heisman Trophy winner and NFL Quarterback Robert Griffin III (RGIII) and former Baylor linebacker and NFL Hall of Famer, Mike Singletary (2015 gala); America's gold medal legend Mary Lou Retton (2014 gala); former Dallas Cowboys running back Emmitt Smith (2013 gala) and Baylor's championship-winning women's basketball coach Kim Mulkey who joined former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Troy Aikman at (2012 inaugural gala).