LHSON Announces Dr. Shelby Garner Selected into 2022 American Academy of Nursing Fellows

August 3, 2022

The Louise Herrington School of Nursing’s (LHSON) Dr. Shelby Garner, PhD, RN, CNE, Associate Professor, has been selected for induction as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing for her significant contributions in advancing the science of global health and building healthcare simulation capacity in India. This is a significant acknowledgement of her outstanding contribution in nursing and research impact on health and health care. She will be inducted into the 2022 class of fellows of the American Academy of Nursing (AAN) this fall at the Academy’s 2022 “Transforming Health Driving Policy Conference” in Washington D.C. According to the past AAN president Dr. Eileen Sullivan-Marx, PhD, RN, FAAN, “The Academy’s fellows embody nursing values of diversity, equity, inclusivity, inquiry, integrity, and courage, which enable us to achieve new heights of impact that advance health policy across the globe.”

Through a competitive, rigorous application process, the Academy’s Fellow Selection Committee reviewed a record number of applications, representing a 30% increase from the previous year, to select the 2022 Fellows. Dr. Garner was one of 250 individuals selected to be inducted. The 2022 Fellows represent 35 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and 17 countries.

Dr. Garner will be among the LHSON’s American Academy distinguished fellows: Dr. Dora Bradley, PhD, RN-BC, FAAN, Dr. Jessica L. Peck, DNP, APRN, CPNP-PC, CNE, CNL, FAANP, FAAN; Dr. Alona D. Angosta, PhD, APRN, FNP-C, FAAN; Amy Anderson, DNP, RN, FAAN; Bonnie Clipper, DNP, MA, MBA, RN, CENP, FACHE and Deborah Zimmerman, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN.

“This is a stellar accomplishment for Dr. Garner whose work significantly leverages mentoring networks to lead culturally responsive nursing and health systems capacity in global forums. As a researcher and scholar, Dr. Garner makes invaluable contributions to the global nursing profession. She is committed to advancing health equity to meet the health needs of all people,” said, Dr. Alona Angosta, Associate Dean for Research & Scholarship, LHSON. “Congratulations, Dr. Garner.”

“Exemplifying our school motto, Learn.Lead.Serve.®, Dr. Garner is a shining example of a Baylor nurse leader,” said Linda Plank, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, Dean and Clinical Associate Professor, LHSON. “She is an inspiration to us all for her endless dedication and passion for nursing shared both at home and abroad.”

The Academy is an honorific society that recognizes nursing's most accomplished leaders in policy, research, practice, administration, and academia. Academy Fellows, from nearly 40 countries, hold a wide variety of influential roles in health care. Induction into the Fellowship represents more than recognition of one's accomplishments within the nursing profession. Fellows contribute their collective expertise to the Academy, engaging with health leaders nationally and globally to improve health and achieve health equity by impacting policy through nursing leadership, innovation, and science.

The 2022 inductees will be recognized for their significant contributions to health and health care at the Academy’s annual Health Policy Conference, taking place on October 27-29, 2022 in Washington, DC at the Marriott Marquis during the Induction Ceremony on the evening of October 29. Once the newest Fellows are inducted, the Academy will be comprised of more than 3,000 leaders who are experts in policy, research, administration, practice, and academia that champion health and wellness, locally and globally. Learn more about the Academy and visit the policy conference website for more details. For individuals interested in attending the Induction Ceremony, tickets can be purchased online.

About Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing
The Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (LHSON) located in Dallas, Texas, was established in 1909 as a diploma program within Baylor Hospital in Dallas, which is now Baylor Scott & White Health’s Baylor University Medical Center, and in 1950 became one of the six degree-granting schools of Baylor University. The first Baccalaureate degrees were granted in 1952, establishing the School among the earliest baccalaureate nursing programs in Texas. In 1999, the School was renamed the Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing after Louise Herrington Ornelas, a 1992 Baylor Alumna Honoris Causa, who made an endowment gift to the School. The LHSON offers Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) degrees through Traditional, FastBacc® (one-year accelerated) and Distance Accelerated BSN programs. Plus, the LHSON offers an online Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) program with tracks that include Family Nurse Practitioner, Nurse-Midwifery, Neonatal Nurse Practitioner, Pediatric Nurse Practitioner, Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner, Executive Nurse Leadership and U.S. Army Anesthesia Nursing (USAGPAN). The U.S. News & World Report 2022 Best Graduate Schools rankings include several LHSON programs, including the DNP program at No. 60 nationally and “Best Nursing” specialty rankings for LHSON’s USAGPAN, which operates at the U.S. Army Medical Center of Excellence at Fort Sam Houston in San Antonio, at No. 8 nationally, and Baylor’s Nurse-Midwifery program, which is No. 21 in the nation. In addition, U.S. News & World Report 2022 Best Undergraduate Nursing Programs ranked the LHSON No. 58. To learn more visit www.baylor.edu/nursing

About the American Academy of Nursing
The American Academy of Nursing serves the public by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. Academy Fellows are inducted into the organization for their extraordinary contributions to improve health locally and globally. With more than 2,900 Fellows, the Academy represents nursing’s most accomplished leaders in policy, research, administration, practice, and academia.