2022 DFW GREAT 100 Nurses Awards - Two Honorees from Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing

May 17, 2022
DFW Great 100

Baylor University Louise Herrington School of Nursing (LHSON) is proud to have twenty-three nurses recognized over the years as DFW Great 100 Nurses. For 2022, we congratulate Jessica L. Peck, DNP, APRN, CPNP-PC, CNE, CNL, FAANP, FAAN, Clinical Professor and Jane Price, MSN, RN, CNE, Clinical Assistant Professor.

“Nurses shape public health by using their voices as advocates, their eyes as hands as compassionate caregivers, and their minds as teachers and scholars while clothing these efforts in compassion, strength, innovation, and resilience,” said Dr. Peck. “With a holistic practice framework and the trust of the public, nurses are integral to the nation's health. The collective strength of nursing as a unified profession can impact health by leveraging our acquired knowledge and excellence in leadership to confidently serve the public and promote health equity. It is an honor to be recognized with my peers in this incredible profession of nursing.”

This prestigious event will be held on May 17, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. at the Morton H. Meyerson Symphony Center. As stated by the DFW Great 100 Nurses, more than 50,000 nurses practice in the Dallas-Fort Worth area and it helps raise the awareness of the contributions of nurses to patient care, research, leadership, education and community service. These highly revered nurses are not only at the bedside, but in the boardroom, schoolroom, and throughout the community. They are honored for having demonstrated superior contributions to the art and science of nursing and having upheld the high standards of the nursing profession.

Dr. Price said that the quote the comes to mind that expresses her thoughts about nursing is from Ralph Waldo Emerson, “To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived, that is to have succeeded.”

The Great 100 Nurses originated from an idea by P.K. Scheerle, a registered nurse, entrepreneur and founder of a similar event in New Orleans, Louisiana. In 1991, Dr. Beth Mancini, PhD, RN, Sarah Moody, MS, RN, NEA-BC, Lucy Norris, MS, RN, CENP and Judy Denison, MS, RN, NEA-BC established the DFW Great 100 Nurses. For more information please visit http://www.dfwgreat100nurses.com/

This award has become recognized throughout the nursing community as an esteemed honor and prestigious accomplishment. LHSON faculty who have previously been recognized for their significant contributions to nursing as a role model, leader, community servant, and compassionate caregiver include: (2020) Dr. Deborah Petty; (2019) Barbara D. Commune; (2018) Drs. Elizabeth Perry Caldwell, Renee Flippo, Kathryn Osteen and Rebecca Meraz; (2017) Drs. Robin Caldwell, Shelby Garner, Lyn Prater and Lori Spies; (2016) Drs. Dean Shelley F. Conroy, Claudia Beal and Melissa Neathery; (2013) Rebecca Deisler Puchkors; (2012) Barbara Devitt and Dr. Cheryl Tucker; (2011) Beckie Phillips; (2008) Dr. Renee Jones; (2004) Dr. Linda Plank and Becky W. Althaus; (1995) Dr. Mary Ann Faucher and (1993) Nan Ketcham. To view a list of all the honorees click: http://www.dfwgreat100nurses.com/honorees/